Friday, 15 March 2019 09:19

Special Economic Zone Tanjung Kelayang, Bangka Province Inaugurated

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)
President inaugurated Tanjung Kelayang Economic Zone in Bangka President inaugurated Tanjung Kelayang Economic Zone in Bangka kemenko perekonomian

The Government on Thursday (14/3) inaugurated Tanjung Kelayang Special Economic Zone (SEZ) in Bangka Belitung province. This special economic zone is built on a ​​324-hectare land and is expected to attract Rp10.3 trillion investments and provide employment for around 23,645 people.

Coordinating Minister for the Economy Darmin Nasution said that Tanjung Kelayang Special Economic Zone is expected to transform economy in Bangka Belitung province from tin mining based economy into the one based on world-class tourism.

“Tanjung Kelayang Special Economic Zone, along with Bitung, Morotai, and Trans Kalimantan Special Economic Zones are ready to operate,” Darmin said before the inauguration of the special economic zone by President Joko “Jokowi” Widodo on Thursday (14/3).

“This special economic zone is strategically located between Jakarta and Singapore and has a good potential for future captive market,” he added.

Several investors including international hotel networks such as Starwood Asia Pacific and Accor Asia Pacific, he added, have also expressed interest to make investment at this special economic zone.

In the meantime, Secretary of the National Council for Special Economic Zones Enoh Suharto Pranoto explained that the development of Tanjung Kelayang Special Economic Zone is based on Government Regulation Number 6 of 2016. Enoh added that the National Council is currently reviewing two proposals for new Special Economic Zones, namely Sungailiat in Bangka and Tanjung Gunung in Central Bangka. The proposals are expected to be decided in the near future, he said.

“To facilitate investors at the special economic zones, the Government has also issued Online Single Submission (OSS), an Integrated Business Licensing System,” Enoh said.

To date, the Government has built twelve Special Economic Zones, eight of which are manufacture zones, and the rest are tourism zones.  Six of the twelve Special Economic Zones have been in operation, namely Sei Mangkei Special Economic Zone, Tanjung Lesung Special Economic Zone, Palu Special Economic Zone, Mandalika Special Economic Zone, Galang Batang Special Economic Zone, and Arun Lhokseumawe Special Economic Zone.

President on his visit to Bangka Belitung Province also inaugurated the extension of Depati Amir airport, visit to the market and distributed land certificate (kemenko perekonomian and other source)

Read 109 times Last modified on Friday, 15 March 2019 09:59
Budi N

Budi Nugroho P.