Special Interview
Video Streaming
Thursday, 14 October 2021 16:05

KPU & Bawaslu Selection Committee Team

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)



President Joko Widodo has inaugurated 11 members of the General Election Commission (KPU) and Election Supervisory Agency (Bawaslu) selection committee team. This inauguration was announced by Minister of Home Affairs, Tito Karnavian in a press conference in Jakarta, Monday (11/10). The team will hold the selection of KPU and Bawaslu candidates for the 2022-2027 period, since the current KPU and Bawaslu's tenure will end in April 2022. According to the Home Affairs Ministry's Director General for Politics and General Government Bachtiar, the 11 selection committee members consist of three government officials, four academicians, and four community members.

Meanwhile, political observer Adi Prayitno affirmed that the KPU and Bawaslu selection committee team must have the credibility and skills in politics, especially the general election. Besides, the committee members must be independent, impartial, and un-affiliated with any interest or political party.

The 11 selection committee members led by Juri Ardiantoro are expected to work carefully and to be broadminded in selecting the candidates.This is to avoid selecting the candidates without clear track records. There are many smart people. However, being smart is not enough. They also need to have integrity and morals to be trustworthy and honest.

Money politics is often difficult to avoid in elections. Therefore, it is expected that the selection committee team would not be easily swayed by money, but brave enough to refuse any group and party's request in deciding the KPU and Bawaslu commissioner candidates.

Hopefully, the selection committee can work well, honestly and openly and they are committed to the people and the nation. In addition, the openness for input and report from the people for KPU and Bawaslu candidates is important for consideration in choosing the best candidates.

Read 558 times