Video Streaming
Thursday, 24 September 2020 11:36

Germany Says Regions In 11 European Countries High Risk Of Covid-19

Written by 
Rate this item
(0 votes)
German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Emmanuel Macron. German Chancellor Angela Merkel and French President Emmanuel Macron. REUTERS/Christophe Simon

Germany added territories in 11 European countries to the list of destinations categorized as COVID-19 risk zones.

The growing list is dealing a further blow to hopes of resurgent tourism as many countries prepare for a possible second wave of the coronavirus pandemic.

The new areas on the list of the Robert Koch Institute health agency include major tourist destinations, such as Center-Val de Loire, Brittany, and Normandy in France and the Lika-Senj coastal region in Croatia and the Primorsko-notranjska plateau in Slovenia.

The capitals of Ireland, Portugal, and Denmark, and the province of Utrecht in the Netherlands, Vorarlberg State in Austria, most of the Czech Republic, the Gyor region in Western Hungary, and the Covasna region in Romania are on the list.

Adding to the list of areas at risk is usually followed by an appeal for German citizens not to make unnecessary trips to the areas identified.

Germany warned citizens against traveling to areas within the European Union, where their COVID-19 infection rate exceeds 50 per 100,000 population a week. (Reuters)

Read 469 times