Program Highlight
Company Profile
Monday, 26 March 2018 13:37

Kujang, a traditional weapon from West Java

Written by 
Rate this item
(3 votes)

West Java has various kinds of traditional weapons such as Kujang, Balincong, Patik, Bedog, and many others. Kujang is one of West Java traditional weapons, which is quite known because of its unique shape. Kujang began to be made around the 8th century or the 9th century. It is well-known as Sundanese traditional weapon which has sacred value and magical power. Kujang is also as a weapon of West Java farmers and has root on agricultural culture. Generally,  Kujang has understanding as heirloom from the God. As a weapon, since the past until now, Kujang has possessed a very special position  among Sundanese people. In the past, Kujang could not be separated from Sundanese people’s life because of its function as agricultural tool. With development of technology, culture, social and economy of Sundanese people, Kujang also develops and experiences its form, function and meaning. From an agricultural tool, Kujang develops to become a thing which has own character and tends to be weapon which has symbolic and sacred values. Every part of Kujang has its own name, beginning from a pointed tip which is used for incision or gouging. This is called ‘Papatuk’ or Congo until Ganja or Landaian, namely sharp corner which directs similar direction with Papatuk. In general, Kujang has 5 until 9 eyes, Kujang which has no eyes, is called as Kujang Buta or in English blind Kujang. Besides its shape, the characteristic of Kujang material is also very unique, because it tends thick; its material is dried, and it has porous and many  containing natural metal elements. According to elders, some give a very noble philosophy to Kujang as Ku-jang-ji rek neruskeun padamelan sepuh karuhun urang” meaning, promise to keep struggling of the ancestors, namely by enforcing the characteristic of human and nation. There are 5 human characteristics Welas Asih (love), Tatakrama (attitude), Undak Usuk (speaking ethic), Budi Daya Budi Basa, Wiwaha Yuda Na Raga. In addition, there are 5 national characteristics, namely Rupa (figure), Basa (language), Adat (tradition), Aksara (letter), Kebudayaan (culture).

Read 3849 times Last modified on Monday, 26 March 2018 19:16