Video Streaming
Friday, 04 December 2020 00:00

Ministry of Research and Technology Supports COVID-19 Vaccine Development Team

Written by 
Rate this item
(1 Vote)
Bambang Brodjonegoro Bambang Brodjonegoro

Jakarta (VOI News) - Indonesia must have independence in developing the COVID-19 vaccine. Therefore, the Ministry of Research and Technology / the National Research and Innovation Agency has given support to 6 teams developing the COVID-19 vaccine called the Red and White vaccine. This was conveyed by the Minister of Research and Technology / Head of the National Research and Innovation Agency, Bambang Brodjonegoro, in a virtual press conference, Thursday (03/12), after submitting the Minister of Research and Technology's Decree regarding the National Team for the Acceleration of Vaccine Development to the research team of the Indonesian Institute of Sciences ( LIPI) and the University of Indonesia (UI) research team. 

"So we really must have independence with vaccines and that's why we provide support to 6 teams working to produce COVID-19 vaccine seeds, with this Decree the institution or the team will get budget support, both a budget for research and later a budget for clinica testing, said Bambang Brodjonegoro. 


Minister of Research and Technology Bambang Brodjonegoro further said that the 6 vaccine development teams would also get the equipment or materials needed in vaccine research, either carried out by each institution or at the National Vaccine Development Center at Komplek Puspitek (Research Center for Science and Technology) Serpong. . 

Another support, Bambang Brodjonegoro continued, each team will be paired with the industry to carry out downstream and production. According to Bambang, this industry will be coordinated with Bio Farma and private companies to collaborate with the 6 teams developing the COVID-19 vaccine. The six teams or institutions formed to develop the Red and White vaccine are the Eijkman Institute for Molecular Biology, LIPI (Indonesian Institute of Sciences), Gadjah Mada University, University of Indonesia, Bandung Institute of Technology, and Airlangga University. (VOI / AHM)

Read 216 times